A few neophyte reversing questions

4 replies [Last post]
Sundevil
Neophyte

I'm pretty new to reversing software, I followed the neophyte's guide and I've read the recommended book about asm and I'm at about the half way mark in Lena's tutorials and so far it's blowing my mind, I've learned more about computers this past month than I did during the past five years probably and I even made some changes in my life to reflect, so props to SX for taking my technology interest embers and blowing them up into an inferno of curiosity.
Anyways, I've got a few questions:

- Any good books about assembly, something more up to date than Assembly Step by Step (it was great and informative, but now I want more) that any one here could recommend? I ordered Intel's manuals and should have them in a few days as a great resource, but I'm also look for something more along the text-book type of book to get. Also, any trail for me to follow to get to know the WinApi a bit - should I look for books on it or should I start with simple tutorials at first?

- This is more of question about current reversing trends. Most of Lena's tuts focus on ye olde applications from 99-2005 and most of them have a laughable level of protections which could be broken with a few NOPs, JMPs or changing xor al,al into mov al,1, but it's 2011 today and I bet that trends in software protection have somewhat shifted, how does software protection look nowadays?