MAC address/IP Masking

8 replies [Last post]
chessoriginal
Neophyte

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to the SX community and I'm an upcoming computer programmer/network "enthusiast" in college in need of some advice/direction in working on networks while leaving a minimal footprint. First of a little background on my environment.

My college authenticates all users using the Cisco Clean Access Agent (If you know anything about bypassing clean access please let me know as well), which sadly requires you to log in with your university credentials. Within the school network, there is also a separate housing network, which runs independently of the main network. In the housing network there is both wireless and wired connections. I have found out that if you connect to the wireless network and then to the wired network, you get different IP addresses each time for each connection, even though you are using the same login credentials (which is what I use to get around rapidshare and sites that monitor IP addresses). I have also managed to scan the wired network and was able to come up with a handsome list of MAC addresses, IP addresses and computer names of everyone on the network as well as that of the Cisco router. At the moment I don't know what to do with that information. Now, the housing network has pretty much blocked all incoming connections so it is impossible to do any torrenting, which is a big disappointment.The main campus, on the other hand, does not block incoming connections so programs such as uTorrent can work.